Jorja Baldwin Wins Tomion’s Seat

A new representative has been chosen for the St. Clair County Board of Commissioners. Jorja Baldwin, Ft. Gratiot Township Supervisor, will fill the seat vacated by Karl Tomion. When Tomion resigned last month, three finalists were in the running for his position in the county’s second commission district. That district encompasses Burtchville, Ft. Gratiot, and the northern part of Port Huron. Reports say Baldwin was elected at the meeting Thursday night by a 4-1 vote over the other two finalists, Kenneth Cummings and Robert Mosurak. She will fulfill Tomion’s original term which lasts until the end of 2020. In light of the appointment to the board, Baldwin will be leaving her position as Ft. Gratiot Township Supervisor.