Redistricting Michigan

Every 10 years following the U.S. Census, district lines for political offices must be redrawn in states across the country to accurately reflect their population. In Michigan, a randomly selected commission of citizens is responsible for drawing U.S. Congressional and Michigan State House and Senate district lines.

In the November 2018 general election, Michigan voters amended the state constitution to make citizens — not legislators or special interests — responsible for drawing district lines (called “redistricting”). The commission will be composed of 13 randomly-selected Michigan registered voters: four who affiliate with the Democratic Party, four who affiliate with the Republican Party, and five who do not affiliate with either major political party.

So far, more than 3,500 notarized applications have been processed for the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, according to Secretary of State Jocelyn Benson. 

Applications are still being accepted through June 1, 2020. As all applications must be signed in the presence of a notary, Secretary of State offices statewide continue to offer free notary services by appointment. Appointments can be made at or by calling 888-SOS-MICH. Once notarized, applications can be submitted by mail or at Secretary of State offices.

For more information and to see the updated applicant profile, visit