Unofficial Election Results 2018

Voters were at the polls yesterday with a full ballot.  Overall, Democrats gained control of the House and Republicans expanded their majority in the Senate.  In the city of Port Huron, Pauline Repp retained her seat as Mayor and Anita Ashford was re-elected for City Council.  Newly elected for council are Jeff Pemberton and Lisa Beedon.  Karl Tomion retained his seat on the St. Clair County Board of Commissioners District 2 – over contender, Laurie Sample-Wynn; Harry Dunn beat out James Papineau for District 4.  Joe Bixler and Lauire Oldford will take seats on the Port Huron Area School District Board of Education.  Bill Cedar retains his position as Mayor of St. Clair – In Marine City – Jacob Bryson, Wendy Kellehan and Cheryl Vercammen will serve as commissioners.  Debbie Stabenow stays in the U.S. Senate by just over 51 per cent of the vote,  Paul Mitchell received 60 per cent of the vote to remain a U.S. Congressman for District 10.  Michigan has a new governor in Gretchen Whitmer.  One of the most closely watched proposals, Michigan passed Proposal 1 with 57 percent of the vote, legalizing marijuana.  Both Proposal 2 and Proposal 3 passed as well, bringing sweeping changes to Michigan’s election law.  In the State House of Representatives, Gary Eisen won District 81, Shane Hernandez remains for District 83 and Dan Lauwers was elected for the state Senate in District 25